It’s been a while… How about a food post?

So, work has been busy and tiring, but that’s really just life. I figured I should probably post something, so here is a bit about some foods, our microwave, and the picture of me in my halloween costume!

Foods:

Typhoon prep and getting over my bronchitis!

Typhoon prep and getting over my bronchitis!

Here is the mushroom one once you add water.

Here is the mushroom one once you add water.

 

 

Here is the noodle one before adding water.

Here is the noodle one before adding water.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While prepping for the typhoon, I was still coughing up disgusting globs of… stuff. Therefore, I thought it might be useful to get some dehydrated soups, in case of emergency and to help my illness.

When we went to our local Aeon (pronounced “Eon”) I found two soups that looked promising; one was similar to a mushroom soup I had last year on New Year’s Day in California (the one with long, yellow packaging) and the other just looked interesting. They both turned out to be fantastic, though I’m sure they’re not healthy for me…

I’m saving the mushroom one for when I finally get some mochi to toast up and throw in, since it makes it so much better, but I’ve already finished the noodle soup package and moved on to the next one. They really helped my cold and somehow aided in getting all that gunk out of my lungs. I also found that the noodle ones were a great addition to my breakfast spread.

My typical breakfast before work.

My typical breakfast before work. I have toast with a bit of butter, two slices of cured ham, a sunny side up egg with a runny yolk, a tiny bit of smoked gouda, some veggie/fruit juice, and some noodle soup.

I’ve also found that I eat about two eggs a day in Japan, which I haven’t really ever done. For some reason I really don’t have a mental issue eating so many eggs, like I did in America… Go figure…

Our Microwave:

When we first came to our apartment, we found two (disgusting) toaster ovens and a stove top. We were lacking two things we use quite commonly: a microwave and an oven. Well, thank god Japan had us covered on that!

In Japan there are simple microwaves, which are about ¥7,000 – ¥9,000 ($70-$90) and there are deluxe microwaves which can get up into ¥100,000 ($1,000). The difference between them is that the deluxe microwaves are capable of doing more than what a simple microwave can do. I had read previously that Japanese homes don’t typically have ovens, but to save space many people get a microwave oven combo, called an oven range (but spelled in Katakana). However, the more expensive ones are more than just ovens and microwaves. At the store, the sign on one of the $1,000 ones boasted that it could steam, fry (with minimal oil), bake, broil, toast, microwave, and probably more than we just couldn’t mentally translate at the time.

Sorry, this is really not that great of a picture now that Im looking at it... But it is of my microwave!

Sorry, this is really not that great of a picture now that Im looking at it… But it is of my microwave!

When it came time for our own purchase, I knew that I really wanted a microwave oven combo, but I wasn’t seeing one I liked online or at any of our usual stores. That was until we tried the electronics store; when we got there we found some of the high-class ones as well as some nice looking ones in our own price range. They have a great selection with a range of prices, rather than the other stores which had 3 or 4 microwaves ranging from ¥19,000 to ¥30,000 ($190 – $300).

Sam left the decision to me and I found one that I loved (and thankfully still do!) for ¥16,800 ($168). I was sold on it and then I noticed the おすすめ  (osusume) card on it, which means the store itself was recommending it. Recommendations had never steered me wrong in Japan, so my infatuation with that microwave became a solid crush.

Me as a dinosaur:

Here is the picture of me in my halloween costume with one of my adult students. You can tell that she is super fun to teach! We often talk about manga, anime, and dramas. It’s fantastic!

IMG_4125

Good times at work!

This entry was posted in 未分類. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s been a while… How about a food post?

  1. Bernie says:

    I’m glad you have a good microwave. From what I see, a lot of your store-bought food is something you add water to and then heat up. You can do that right in your serving dish. Your breakfast looks impressive, and two eggs a day aren’t that bad, at least at your age, I think. But what is the black stick sitting on top of your noodle soup? xox

    Like

  2. deb92024 says:

    Cutest T. Rex on the block!
    Xox

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura and Jim says:

    We think and talk about you lots – now will be able to really follow how you’re doing. Saw your mom and dad last night – everyone looks and sounds wonderfully healthy.Love to you both – Laura

    Like

Leave a Reply

