Some work on our interior…

I haven’t really been perfectly at peace with our home, so I wanted to get some decor going and fix up some of the interior. One of the first things I did today was patch up some of the screens, rice paper or otherwise. A while back I found some sticker that are meant to patch up screens so you don’t need to buy new ones or pay to repair them fully. That was an awesome find since our’s are a complete mess.  Here are some pictures of the finished products:

Rice paper screens

Rice paper screens

Woven screens.

Woven screens.

Later in the day we went to, once again, try and get my hair cut. The salon was, once again, closed and had a sign that seemed to be saying they didn’t have enough workers to operate and were closed until they did… So… On to the hardware store next door!

A month or two ago I tried out something that I kept seeing in Japan; wall decals. I bought some trees and set up a small one in our WC. I really loved the end result and was contemplating where I should set up the second, larger tree. I thought about putting it behind our kitchen table, but in the end decided to have a very wooded bathroom.

Our WC!

Our WC!

For our table, I was recently gifted some pictures by Mai. She took them when She, Sam, and I went to the big matsuri. I really loved the pictures and I wanted to frame them. The only frames I could find were meant to rest on tables, not walls, so I had to jerry-rig them with some string and knotting to make them do what I wanted. Since they were just dollar store frames, I didn’t feel bad pulling off parts and messing around with their configuration.

While at the hardware store I checked out the wall decals, just to see if I liked anything. I found some that I liked which happened to be on sale! So I bought them and threw those up on the wall with the pictures. I like how it turned out, although the feel is probably a big difference from the rest of our apartment on any given, slightly messy, day. I keep thinking about the next tenant, whom I can only assume is going to be male, and how they will be welcomed into this super girly apartment. It’ll be awesome.

Have a look at the kitchen set up:

The finished product.

The finished product.

Students and me! A gift from a student! <3

Students and me! A gift from a student! ❤

Sam and I at the Matsuri!

Sam and me at the Matsuri!

Sam and I with our awesome bananas.

Sam and me with our awesome bananas.

Sam and I at the Matsuri!

Sam and me at the Matsuri!

Matsuri pic.

Matsuri pic.

This entry was posted in 未分類. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some work on our interior…

  1. Leda says:

    Looks beautiful! I especially like the ginkgo leaves on the screens.

    Liked by 1 person

    • owegami says:

      Thanks! I still need to ginkgo leaf our bedroom screens, since they look terrible. But it’s still a little nicer to exist in our apartment now! Hopefully we can find some other things we’d like to put up on the rest of our dull, boring walls.

      Like

  2. Shanna says:

    Love what you have done to the place! I agree with Leed. I really like the ginko leaves. And I especially love that the the next messy bachelor will live in a girly apartment…

    Liked by 1 person

    • owegami says:

      Hahaha yeah. Since many of them come straight from college, I imagine them with their posters of half-naked women and beer surrounded by all of my cute alterations. It will be the most confusing apartment ever!

      Like

Leave a Reply

