There’s more than one way to skin a mandrin orange…

So, my last (ish?) post about making the alcohol now has a follow up! I tasted it the first few days and it tasted awesome! However, I tasted it this morning and the flavor had completely changed, and not for the better. That’s when  realized that the two citrus experiments still had their skins on, and that flavor was beginning to dominate the rest. I squeezed the juice and pulp out of the slices, disposed of the skins, and will now add more fruit that doesn’t have it’s skins in order to correct the flavor. Worst case, it sucks and I only serve it to people whom ask for it or people I don’t like…

***

We’ve got a busy weekend going on right now! Last night, Sam, Mai, and I went out with two of my students, Sachiko and Fuku-chan. They’re great fun and the whole event came about because Sachiko said that I couldn’t eat a lot because I’m on the skinny side. We went to a place that serves all-you-can-eat pizza, along with a main, a salad, and endless drinks.

I made two huge mistakes: 1) my main was pasta (which was delicious) while my competitors were eating soup and salad, I really didn’t stand a chance (but the pasta was totally worth it!); 2) Why did I think I was going to want all-I-can-eat Japanese pizza?! For those of you that don’t know, Japanese pizza has toppings like shrimp, corn, potatoes, lotus root, etc. There were only a few slices that I even wanted. Although, the curry pizza turned out to be good!

So, I epicly lost. Mai, whom ate a salad as a main, whopped us all. I told them that, when we had a rematch, we all had to eat the same main so that we would be able to really see who is the winner. They stilled laughed at me since I only ate three or four slices… I don’t really blame them…

Tomorrow I’ve got some people coming over as well! Derek, whom works with my company in another area, and Grant (my friend from high school) and his girlfriend. It should be fun! We’re just gonna hang around, drink, play cards, etc. Who knows? We might even get to play Wok Star, the only board game we have in our collection in Japan. It’s fun. You should try it!

This entry was posted in 未分類. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s more than one way to skin a mandrin orange…

  1. Shanna says:

    Japanese pizza?! Was it “realistic”?

    Like

    • owegami says:

      It’s completely different than what you would get in America. The slices are also incredibly small. I don’t know if it would meet what you would call realistic, but it’s what they eat for pizza… Personally, I don’t really like it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

