Hanukkah/Chanukkah/Whatever

I’m writing this at 1 am while waiting for my laundry to finish so I can hang it up, so this is most likely an insane post and will have very little editing. Sorry.

So, being jewish in Japan is interesting. The word for a jewish person is Japanese is yudaiajin (though google translate is also telling me yudaiahito), but I’ve learned that most Japanese people don’t know this word, or the meaning associated with it. I’ve told people, had full conversations, and they have had no idea that this religion exists. It’s not a big deal, but it makes celebrating holidays interesting.

While in the grand Jewish spectrum, Hanukkah is not all that important, it has always been my favorite holiday.This year Sam and I decided that we were going to make latkahs, aka potato pancakes. Last year (I think…) we had amazing Latkahs made by Sam’s uncle, Steve, so we tried to mimic his ratio for our ingredients. I don’t really know if we did that, as it’s been a year, but our’s tasted pretty awesome and very authentic. We took pictures! Yay!

Sam was in charge of most of the frying. I did the draining, forming, and other stuff. My job was really clammy...

Sam was in charge of most of the frying. I did the draining, forming, and other stuff. My job was really clammy…

Applesauce is not so common in Tateyama (maybe even Japan), as I've had to describe it to people and they have no clue what I'm talking about. So, I made my own! Super cinnamon-y, since that's one of Sam's favorite spices. Once it mellowed, it was pretty amazing!

Applesauce is not so common in Tateyama (maybe even Japan), as I’ve had to describe it to people and they have no clue what I’m talking about. So, I made my own! Super cinnamon-y, since that’s one of Sam’s favorite spices. Once it mellowed, it was pretty amazing!

No way we'd find a hannukiah, so I just improved one with foil. If you think about it, it's pretty authetic since Hanukkah should be the festival of improving-solutions-when-shit-hits-the-fan.

No way we’d find a hannukiah, so I just improved one with foil. If you think about it, it’s pretty authentic since Hanukkah should be the festival of improving-solutions-when-shit-hits-the-fan.

IMG_4161

Latkahs make the best breakfast the next day! They’re pretty much hashbrowns with style and an apple sidekick.

 

This entry was posted in 未分類. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hanukkah/Chanukkah/Whatever

  1. Robert Goldfarb says:

    How wonderful you celebrated Hanukkah that far away, where the word for Jew is unknown. Both of you are wonderful people; and I hope the Japanese think to themselves, “Now these Americans are really lovely people and glad they’re here.”

    You must be overjoyed that your parents are either there now or soon will be. Your Dad’s being in good health, able to travel so far, must be the best Hanukkah, even Christmas, gift one could imagine. (Sam’s one/eight Catholic thanks to my mother).
    Please give our love to your parents, and ask that they email or call on their return to give us a view of you guys and your lives!

    Like

Leave a Reply

