Tea ceremony

On the 11th of this month, I went to a big tea ceremony that one of my student’s grandmother was hosting. She is a tea teacher, so her students were performing. It was also a special event because it was the first tea ceremony of the year.

Mai and I RSVP’d a while back, and we also decided we were going to go in full kimono garb. Thankfully we weren’t the only ones, or else I would have been an even bigger spectacle. As I didn’t want to be disrespectful, I only have a few pictures.

We started with a more formal ceremony and partook of thick tea (not my favorite, though it was better than I remembered). In this ceremony, you don’t get your own bowl of tea; it is passed after the people in front of you have had a drink. There are also some sanitation routines in place, though I’ll admit their not super rigid. You just wipe where you drank with a bit of paper.

In the second ceremony, we had thin tea! This is the regular matcha consistency most people are familiar with, and the ceremony itself was much more relaxed. Also, two of my younger students worked delivering the tea bowls to each person! They were super cute and excited about the whole thing!

On whole it was a pretty interesting day, and was only made more interesting by a 70 year old man telling me I was beautiful and sexy, regardless of how I tried to inform him that I moved to Japan with my husband. Oh well. It was an experience.

Here is Mai's friend, Yuki, who used to be a professional kimono dresser. She agreed to help us get ready. Also, here are her two children! They were pretty cute!

Here is Mai’s friend, Yuki, who used to be a professional kimono dresser. She agreed to help us get ready. Also, here are her two children! They were pretty cute!

Here is Mai, my student Miyuki, and me! This is after the event. It was really fantastic!

Here is Mai, my student Miyuki, and me! This is after the event. It was really fantastic!

This entry was posted in 未分類. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tea ceremony

  1. Shanna Bryant says:

    You look amazing! How much fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Robert Goldfarb says:

    You are having experiences which will fill a lifetime of memories. A kimona! A kimona dresser! A tea teacher! How defining of a nation’s traditions in a world fast losing them. Such great messages. PopPop

    Like

    • owegami says:

      Actually, Pop-pop, for women it is still called a kimono. Unlike some other languages, there is not female version of most words in Japanese. That is of course not the case for words like I, She, and so on, but for the kimono there is no ‘a’ at the end.

      Like

Leave a Reply

