Katsuura Tan Tan men!

Aside from ひなまつり, Katsuura is known for tan tan men! Tan tan men is a spicy ramen, which typically has some ground pork, たまねぎ which we call onion, and ねぎ which we call green onion. Because I like to add sirracha, togarashi, and other spices to my ramen, I’ve been told that I needed to try out Katsuura for their tan tan men. Since Miyuki and I were going for the doll festival, we decided that lunch would be some tan tan men!

Miyuki isn't great with spicy foods, so we got our soups mild. Here is my before. (Note the onion, which is not very common in ramen)
Miyuki isn’t great with spicy foods, so we got our soups mild. Here is my before. (Note the onion, which is not very common in ramen)
Here is my after. The shop we went to had some spicy oil, but no other spices. So I partook of the spicy oil to give it a little bit more oomph!
Here is my after. The shop we went to had some spicy oil, but no other spices. So I partook of the spicy oil to give it a little bit more oomph! I didn’t add a ton because I didn’t want it to become too oily.

The tan tan men was delicious, and had a heavy helping of sansho pepper, which has a numbing element to it. While, next time, I would probably go for a spicier one to compare, the mild one was still enough to get my nose dripping. It was exceptional!

This entry was posted in 未分類. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Katsuura Tan Tan men!

  1. kimsg870 says:

    OMB! (OMBuddha!) I had the SAME exact Ramen last night for dinner! It was perfectly fitting for a snowy, cold and wintry evening. I also like to add a little chili oil, it is definitely not without KICK!

    So happy to see your post today~ it made this wet Monday more bearable. I will be in India (Bangalore and environs) for 10 days over my Spring Break this month. I hope to create some semblance of a blog to share pics and my experiences with you guys. Kudos to you for knowing what you want to get out of your work experiences in Japan and making it happen. Whoever hires you is lucky. Miss you guys~ love, ~K

    Like

  2. Muriel says:

    Sounds delicious. Any garlic?

    Like

Leave a Reply

