Tentenyuu Kyoto Style Ramen

Somedays, after work, I find that I was only able to get through the day with the chance of grabbing a bowl of ramen after my last class. This one came on one of those days…

***

After researching it on Tabelog (a restaurant rating site in Japan), Sam found a ramen place that specialized in “Kyoto Style Ramen”, which I hadn’t really heard of. The place is 天天ゆう (Tentenyuu, but I couldn’t remember the last kanji). We went there and found that this Kyoto style place also, maybe coincidentally, specialized in chicken stock-based ramens. They had a lighter one and a richer one, called “paitan”, which boiled the hell outta the bone/meat. I have had my issues with chicken stock in the past, so I ordered the lighter one while Sam went for deep flavor. Stay tuned for the result:

This is the thicker chicken stock base ramen. It had a very different flavor that was salty, rich (like a good gravy), and had a depth of flavor.

This is the thicker chicken stock base ramen. It had a very different flavor that was salty, rich (like a good gravy), and had a depth of flavor.

This was the lighter chicken stock. It was a bit sweeter, not salty, and had almost an essence of chicken noodle.

This was the lighter chicken stock. It was a bit sweeter, not salty, and had almost an essence of chicken noodle.

What I would say is that many people might prefer the lighter one, but neither of us did. The deeper flavor of the bowl Sam got was absolutely fantastic and made me spiteful towards my own noodles for not competing hard enough for my love. It doesn’t taste “too chicken-y” like I thought it would; it’s really just a deeper flavor, like a gravy or au jus. I would, obviously, recommend that everyone try the super boiled bowl, but, again, some might prefer the lighter one. I didn’t like the sweetness, but you might find it endearing. Also, in case you were wondering, the ramen bases were of similar thickness/density, so the difference in the boiling process did not make the stock thinner or thicker.

This entry was posted in 未分類. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

