Nakanobu Sushi Bowl

A while back I located an amazing place to get a rice bowl topped with some sashimi. This little shop has no seats and is purely take-away, but it’s also only 5-10 minutes walk from our apartment, making not seating no problem.

The quality of the sushi is generally AMAZING (there was one time that I found a shrimp that looked a bit iffy, but that was the exception and the rest of the bowl was beyond delicious). For sushi, one way that I “test” a restaurant is that I will purposefully order something I usually hate, such as ikura (Salmon roe) or uni (sea urchin); if I find that the thing I typically hate tastes good, then this place is good. In this instance, the ikura was so fresh and amazing, it was almost more sweet than salty.

Also, each bowl is made to order, which means you can also sometimes request other items; one example of this is when I substituted flying fish roe for the usual salmon roe in the negitoro kani ikuradon. Being one of their few gaijin customers, when I came back a few weeks later and did not substitute it again, the cashier asked me if that was ok or if I needed make the substitution, which was a really interesting experience. You can get regular status at a place pretty quickly in Japan as long as you look different enough and aren’t in a place popular with foreigners.

The store front.

The store front.

A bowl with flying fish eggs, shrimp, ikura, crab, and salmon, with a side of rolled egg.

A bowl with flying fish eggs, shrimp, ikura, crab, and salmon, with a side of rolled egg.

My typical order of negitoro, ikura, and kani. This is on the menu for around 600¥.

My typical order of negitoro, ikura, and kani. This is on the menu for around 600¥.

This entry was posted in 未分類. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nakanobu Sushi Bowl

  1. deb92024 says:

    We may just have to visit again this year. PS: the sushi isn’t the only draw! Nor is the ramen. xox

    Like

Leave a Reply

