Our local ramen shop

Many of you may have noticed this already, but we really like ramen. We set out to try as much good ramen as we could while living in Tokyo, which thankfully isn’t hard or expensive. While researching places, we happened to find one close to our apartment: Mendokoroharunire.

When we first visited this shop, I noticed a few extraordinary things that set them apart from other ramen shops:

  1. For their shio (salt) and shoyu (soy sauce) ramens, the broths were so light and delicate (not to mention amazingly clear). Usually you don’t want to drink too much ramen broth, since it can be unhealthy and heavy, but this broth was a light chicken broth.
  2. Their chashu (the meat in the ramen bowl) had an irregularity in that they have the option to choose between chicken chashu and pork chashu, or have a mixture of the two. Surprisingly, we both thought the non-traditional chicken chashu was actually the better of the two.
  3. Only two people were working there, a chef and waitress (who also worked in the kitchen when needed). Both of these people were women. We’ve returned three times, and it’s only ever been women that I’ve seen.
  4. The atmosphere was much more cafe-like than other ramen shops. There are even blankets in some seats, as the restaurant is not very warm in the winter (I never took off my coat when I was there; it was just too cold).

As stated above, we’ve visited this shop three times in total. We stopped going to this shop because we had tried their different ramens, all of which were good in their own ways, and wanted to make sure we continued to get a wide variety of ramen experiences. However, this place is great when you have a cold and I wouldn’t hesitate to return for more.

Here are some of the ramens we had:

Tantanmen: spicy ramen.

Tantanmen: spicy ramen.

Shio ramen. Super light broth. Fantastic!

Shio ramen with chicken chashu. Super light, clear broth. Fantastic!

Shoyu ramen. Really light brother; and amazing flavor.

Shoyu ramen with pork chashu. Really light broth; and amazing flavor.

This was a special ramen for the time after new year's: sukiyaki ramen. It came with a little light underneath and was a fun meal, but I wouldn't advise you to eat it alone. I found that I the more time I took the longer the noodles sat in the ever-heating bowl, meaning they were pretty hot by the end.

This was a special ramen for the time after new year’s: sukiyaki ramen. It came with a little flame underneath and was a fun meal, but I wouldn’t advise you to eat it alone. I found that I the more time I took the longer the noodles sat in the ever-heating bowl, meaning they were pretty over-cooked by the end.

The gg in the bowl to the side is the typical way to eat sukiyaki, which I don't like. You are supposed to dip the meat or veg into the raw, beaten egg and then eat it. I overcame my fear of raw eggs (so long as they're from Japan or another environment that respects their chickens) and what I found was that the egg mutes the flavors of the sauce. That is actually supposed to happen, but I like stronger flavors more than raw egg. However, I recently saw a television segment about having sukiyaki with a hotspring egg (lightly poached) instead, which could be something to try in the future.

The egg in the bowl to the side is the typical way to eat sukiyaki, which I don’t like. You are supposed to dip the meat or veg into the raw, beaten egg and then eat it. I overcame my fear of raw eggs (so long as they’re from Japan or another environment that respects their chickens) and what I found was that the egg mutes the flavors of the sauce. That is actually supposed to happen, but I like stronger flavors more than raw egg. However, I recently saw a television segment about having sukiyaki with a hot spring egg (lightly poached) instead, which could be something to try in the future.

This entry was posted in 未分類. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our local ramen shop

  1. deb92024 says:

    Almost reminds me of the Japanese equivalent of Jorge’s chicken soup with the rice subbed by noodles – looks equally delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

