Ramen updates: Enishi (sans simpuru) and Takano

We’ve already done some past posts about Enishi and Takano, but we also have recently gotten things that we hadn’t had before. So, with that in mind, I wanted to just put up some pictures from those. One of these (being Enishi) was actually our dinner TONIGHT! That means we might actually start catching up with these posts! OMG!

Takano:

In case you don’t remember, Takano is one of the best ramens in Tokyo and happens to be a mere 10 minute walk from us (less depending on street lights). Since we last went to their restaurant, their rating has gone up and they are now considered to be 8th best ramen in Tokyo, 29th best in Japan (here’s the ranking, where it’s spelled “Tagano” in English), beating out the recently michelin star’d places as well (we haven’t personally tried those yet, but hope to someday).

Last time we went, I narrowly missed out on getting what I had really wanted, their shio ramen. This time we went right after work, on an early day, and I managed to get their shio. It was the best shio of my life. By the way, to clarify, shio means salt and shio ramen is a ramen that is flavored with salt, not soy sauce. Some places will also use additional flavors, such as Daiki with their umeshio, or plum salt.

My favorite shio ramen!

My favorite shio ramen!

Sam ordered a Shoyu (soy sauce) based ramen, which you might recognize as the one I got last time we went.

Sam ordered a Shoyu (soy sauce) based ramen, which you might recognize as the one I got last time we went.

 

Enishi:

We went to Enishi just a mere hour or two ago! Don’t ask me for an exact time on that; I had a nap so time is just a human construct obstructing my groggy understanding of events right now.

Moving on! We went to Enishi for dinner! My throats been acting up, probably from kids cough on me or something. Anyway, I wanted to have some soup and we had previously had Enishimpuru (Eni simple), which was the ginger and negi ramens previously posted, but we had never made it to Enishi normal. That changed tonight!

I got the shio! Notice a trend? Me, too! Sam got the shoyu (he forgot to get a picture… -.-) which had 3 different kinds of meat: pork belly, pork loin, and chicken breast! He liked his better and I preferred mine, but both were marvelous. I would say that Takano is better, but this one was a stiff contender.

A beautiful bowl of shio ramen!

A beautiful bowl of shio ramen!

This entry was posted in 未分類. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ramen updates: Enishi (sans simpuru) and Takano

  1. Shanna Bryant says:

    The last bowl (shio) looks utterly divine and I want some directly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

