Sanja Matsuri

Back in May, Sam and I went to Sanja matsuri in Asakusa. It’s the largest festival in Tokyo, and celebrates the three men who founded the Senso-ji temple in Asakusa. It was pretty fun and had a super long parade of floats, including many kid floats, which were carried by kids! Here are some videos and pictures:

The giant lantern in Akasaka.

The giant lantern in Asakusa.

I found my onesan!

I found my oneesan!

It was super crowded and the polic kept asking people to make room for the floats to pass by. This one is in the video and was a musical float.

It was super crowded and the police kept asking people to make room for the floats to pass by. This one is in the video and was a musical float.

It's coming!

It’s coming!

Another float in the distance.

Another float in the distance.

Here is comes.

Here is comes.

Here it is! WOO! Worth the wait, right? Look at that stunning teal with gold. Ach! Amazing.

Here it is! WOO! Worth the wait, right? Look at that stunning teal with gold. Ach! Amazing.

A gold fish catching game in the festivals stalls. There are food and other shopping opportunities. I got some steamed potatoes with mentako mayo, corn, and miso. It was so good, I kept eating a version of it for the following weeks until I burned out on mentako mayo.

A gold fish catching game in the festivals stalls. There are food and other shopping opportunities. I got some steamed potatoes with mentako mayo, corn, and miso. It was so good, I kept eating a version of it for the following weeks until I burned out on mentako mayo.

Here is a video from our time there:

This entry was posted in 未分類. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

