I made something!

Oh yeaaaah!

Oh yeaaaah!

One of my students, when we were discussing what they eat for breakfast/lunch/dinner mentioned he had mabo tofu, but with eggplant instead of tofu. I instantly thought of the best Chinese dish in the world, spicy garlic eggplant!

As I began craving it, I tried my best to prepare my stomach not to eat it since I would have to make it myself (Sam hates eggplant). So, I asked Sam to pick up some eggplant and, this very morning, I made it! Yay!

I altered this recipe to include more spices (four times the peppers, a bunch of chili oil at various points, and some sweet garlic chili sauce), substituted black vinegar for aged rice vinegar, substituted sugar for mirin, added a carrot, and (at least) tripled the garlic.

Result? Awesomeness! It is spicy, which I wanted, and it is so, so good! I think I am flighting back some serious cold symptoms, so the spice and added goodness should help me combat whatever is at my immune system’s gates.

This entry was posted in 未分類 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I made something!

  1. Young, Deborah says:

    Hope it works immune system magic! It really looks good, now if it will just make you well!
    xox

    Like

  2. I hope you feel perfect quite soon. I’m really enjoying your posts! Beth

    Like

Leave a comment